April 2, 2007

How Long More

Posted in Music, Personal at 12:44 am by egalitaria

Someone asked what the purpose and role of someone living in abject poverty, with no hope and access to education, is in this world. It’s easy enough to respond that the rest of us who do have access and material goods should shoulder the responsibility to provide aid and capacity building to the rest. Aside from receiving input from the other privileged beings, what should their identity be formed upon? Perhaps the answer comes in the form of viewing society as community and not as isolated individuals.

As we enter the week towards Easter, and as I try my best to contemplate the reason for looking to the divine, I remember a beautiful song, lyrics and music both raw and real. They epitomise the cry of humanity when all else fails. And, when there are no easy answers, an inexcusable remark to make but I can only echo the words of David the Psalmist.

Psalm 13 (How Long O Lord) Brian Doerksen

How long O Lord, will You forget me
How long O Lord
will You look the other way
How long O Lord
must I wrestle with my thoughts
And everyday
have such sorrow in my heart
Look on me and answer
O God my Father
bring light to my darkness
before they see me fall
But I trust in Your unfailing love
Yes my heart will rejoice
Still I sing of Your unfailing love
You have been good
You will be good to me

1 Comment

  1. Passionista said,

    Ah, a wonderfully wistful song that often pops up in my iPod shuffle…


Comments are closed.

