September 24, 2008

Race Relations Act

Posted in Malaysia, Tricia's Writings at 11:44 am by egalitaria

Further thoughts on the Race Relations Act proposed by the home ministry in Malaysia recently, published in The Nut Graph.

Race relations: Acting and reacting
24 Sep 08 : 9.00AM

By Tricia Yeoh

AHMAD Ismail is now a familiar name: his remarks about the Chinese in Malaysia resulted in his three-year suspension from Umno politics. The arrest and subsequent release within 24 hours of Sin Chew Daily journalist Tan Hoon Cheng under the Internal Security Act (ISA) for accurately reporting Ahmad’s statement also sparked a nationwide outcry. It is within this context that a proposal was made by MCA Youth Chief Liow Tiong Lai for a Race Relations Act “to govern racial relations, encourage greater unity and avoid discrimination among races in the country.”

This proposal seems to have taken on a life of its own, leading to the cabinet’s approval to formulate the Act, as announced by home minister Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar. He said the home ministry and the ministry for unity, culture, arts and heritage will be working together to gather information to draft the Act.

The proposed Race Relations Act has elicited a range of responses, mainly positive, from those in government. Unity minister Datuk Seri Mohd Shafie Apdal said fundamentals of the Act were aimed at ensuring peace and harmony among the different races — the end goal of which is difficult to dispute.

To read more, click here.

3 Comments

  1. Fendy said,

    We don’t need an act for racial harmony. Is this another way to justify Ahmad Ismail actions? I am a malay and i dont like what ahmad did.

    I say screww the act! we live for 50 years without any racial tension. Umno made all that racial tension themself.

  2. Free Malaysia Now said,

    Salam to all !

    Please excuse for this sidetrack …

    I am about to launch a “Free Malaysia Now” site.

    Is there any “public service announcement” type of ads out there that I can put on my site?

    Specifically, I am looking for full page “animated ads”, preferably in “flash”, less than 1 minute in length, that carry the “Anti-ISA”, “Free PKR”, “Down with Racism” and similar theme.

    If you know of such “ads”, or are interested in this, please email me the ads.

    Disclaimer: I am NOT going to pay anyone for the ads, because I am putting the ads on my site for FREE (hey, I pay for the bandwidth, la) and I ain’t trying to sell anything !

    If you prefer to be anonymous, please indicate it in your email. If you want credit to your ads, please say it so.

    I will try my best to keep your identity secret, can’t promise anything tho. Therefore, if you truly want to keep your identity secret, my suggestion is to send me your email through anonymous proxies.

    Please email me at freemalaysianow at gmail dot com

    Thank you all in advance !

    Harap Maaf Zahir dan Batin !

    Selamat Hari Raya Aidil Fitri !

  3. Fiseedsreora said,

    pyinewvmatjovcwlwell, hi admin adn people nice forum indeed. how’s life? hope it’s introduce branch😉


Comments are closed.

